Spiced Acorn Squash

Today started off with pumpkin spice lattes and orange spiced iced coffees. Michelle and I are officially in the mood for FALL. We’re planning a fall party come end October, and tonight we’re having a dinner party as well. Look at us, all living like hostesses. While she preps the coconut curry soup and mango tapioca for tonight, I’m prepping food to take with me the next few days at work. First up, this Acorn Squash I bought. Michelle recently planted squash in the backyard so I CAN’T WAIT TO NOT HAVE TO BUY IT. I’ve never made this before, but it smells AMAZING. Also, I found coconut brown sugar at Sprouts and this seemed like the perfect thing to use it for.

First cut your squash in half. Fill a pan with about 1.5 inches of water. After you hallow out the seeds and goop, cook the squash upside down in the water for about 15 minutes. Take it out, drain water. Turn squash right side up and drizzle a little olive oil. Then I added cinnamon, nutmeg, the coconut brown sugar, pink Himalayan sea salt(so fancy) and some freshly cracked black pepper. Place the squash back into the oven for another 15-20 minutes, or until you can easily slide a fork into it. ENJOY!

20130829-130509.jpg

20130829-130516.jpg

20130829-130522.jpg

20130829-130528.jpg

I <3 COMMENTS