Face Palm

Being the mother of an [almost] four year old has got to be more entertaining than Stand Up Live. The kids go to an in-home day care, and the providers name is Katie. The other day after I had picked up the kids and we were driving home, Lilly says “Mom, Miss Katie told me to GO”. I asked her where Katie wanted her to “GO”, and she said “She told me to go play in the other room when she was talking on the phone!” [Note, she is saying this like it’s the worst thing anybody has ever told her to do. And that’s saying a lot, considering I tell her to wipe her own ass.]

I digress.

I respond with “Well did you listen to Miss Katie and leave her alone while she was on the phone?” And I quote: “No Mom, let’s not talk about it anymore. It was soooo bad”.

Where does she come up with this stuff? It’s a combination of her tone of voice, and the phrases she spits out. I just cant..

unnamed

For a little nugget that looks harmless, the girl sure can be a terror. Last night when I was loading the kids into the car in front of Katie’s house, Lilly said she peed in her shorts. I thought she meant right there as she was climbing into her car seat, so naturally I FLIP and ask why she didn’t go in the bathroom. She’s never had an accident! She proceeds to tell me she had just woken up from a nap [In Miss Katie’s bed], and peed while she was sleeping. Katie didn’t mention it to me, and since Lilly was still in her pee pants, I assumed she didn’t tell Katie. Turns out my hypothesis was correct…I asked Lil and she responded with “No way, YOU tell her. You call her right now and tell her on the phone that I peed in her bed, MOM!”

The kid sure isn’t short on sass.

2 thoughts on “Face Palm

  1. Your blog is delightful! I can relate on many levels. You may enjoy my blog. alldumbpeas.worpress.com It will offer you an idea what your day care provider is up against. ;-)

  2. They are certainly something else!

    I was reading a study about social miscreants and basically it was saying that at our super early years we have these crazy tendencies. You see the kids that just punch another kid with no remorse. Things like that.

    The study went on to say that the problem people never grew out of that phase. I can see it.

    However, the behavior in a child can be pretty amusing. For an adult…probably not so much.

I <3 COMMENTS

