Gene E. Rice

The investor of my social life. The fountain of wisdom. The been-there-done-that, do-it-this-way-instead. The family stone. The leader. The glue that held us all together.

In the midst of all of our sadness, all of our family time being spent these last few days, all of the memories, one scene of my grandfather and me keeps running through my head.

Seven years ago this August I was a just out of high school 18 year old who was still to scared to drive, riding in the car with a friend when before we knew it we heard tires screeching, we heard metal breaking, we smelt engines burning and we felt the pain overtake us. I literally remember one of my first clear thoughts when I was in the hospital being “There is no way in HELL that I’m getting my drivers license now “. But when my grandfather came to visit me, he said “Blair, you need to get your license. Don’t you agree that you’ll feel safer when YOU are in control?”.

I had never thought about it that way. That wisdom, you see?

I can’t help but be saddened by the irony in which he was taken from us, this grandfather we knew. He lost control, and now our family is struggling to find our own. Please keep us in your thoughts.

20120729-235920.jpg

**the charmer with the tongue out**

2 thoughts on “Gene E. Rice

I <3 COMMENTS

