One Word

Paleo.

Who are we kidding? Obviously I can’t just say one word. Buut, I couldn’t think of a better title so y’all are just going to have to deal. 

One of my co-workers snapped at me today. Verbally of course. He wasn’t literally hungry enough to take a bite from my arm or anything…yet. He apologized and explained that it was his stomach being the mean one, not him. Today is day one of his Paleo adventure. Basically he asked me if I’d do it with him, and because I succumb easily to peer pressure, I said I’d start tomorrow. It seems similar to how I already eat. You know, minus the cheeses, breads, refined sugars, legumes, and alcohol. Just kidding about that last one. I WISH I HAD TIME TO DRINK ALCOHOL. I’ve been doing pretty good counting my calories and tracking my daily food, but I think this diet will help me eat cleaner, and make me more aware of what I consume. For those of you who read Dooce, Heather has been Paleo for quite some time now, and she swears by the way she feels. Wish me luck, and feel free to talk amongst yourselves.

They call this diet the “Cave Man” diet, because it is a primal way of eating. Meat from all animals, fish, vegetables, eggs, fruits and nuts in small doses. Below is a basic guide:

 

 

I may also share Paleo recipes that I experiment with. This is a maybe, as I’m not the best chef in the kitchen.

 

6 thoughts on “One Word

  1. I’ve been eating this way for about 8 months now and it has made me aware of just eating real food!! I have purchased cooking books and learned a new way of cooking. I see myself eating this way for rest of my life. I do include some gluten free processed carbs (Paleo for athletes) once in a while because of the amount of exercise I do. Good luck!

  2. My husband and I actually adopted this style of eating at the start of this month and we both feel a LOT better for it! Plus Rich has come off his weight loss slump he’s been on for months!

    Looking forward to those recipes. :)

I <3 COMMENTS

