Counting Calories

Today is Day 4 of the most life changing, brilliant, so-obvious-I-don’t-know-why-I-didn’t-try-it-sooner experience ever.  I’ve been keeping a food log on an app called Lose It! which is so handy on my iPhone. They also have a website so you can use it from your computer. No wonder I’m overweight. I am so hooked on this Lose It! program that I can’t imagine not keeping track of what I eat anymore. If somebody took away my log, I’d feel lost. I’d also probably gain more weight. I know this sounds a bit much, like they must be buying my love, but I promise they are not. In only 4 short days, this app has completely changed my thinking. It’s not that I don’t want to eat a vat of french fries, because TRUST ME I DO. It’s just that now I have a log. I have to look at my log frequently. I have to watch my calorie budget dwindle, much like my bank account, but that’s another story. I am proud at the end of the day when my log looks clean and healthy. I can’t imagine how it would be possible NOT to lose weight if you are keeping an honest log.

I just wanted to share my experience so far. Again, I know it’s only day 4, but if you are anything like me, and have a serious addiction to junk food, you might want to give this a try. You’ve got nothing  weight to lose.

12 thoughts on “Counting Calories

  1. I am a religious user of MyFitnessPal and love it. Back before the smartphone days I would measure and weigh and log everything in a food diary but this is SO much easier. :) You will have so much more success with this tool at your disposal! Keep it up :)

  2. TC Newell says:

    B.L.
    I thought you’d might like to grab a copy of “But My Doctor Never Told Me That!,” by Dr. Judith Boise. It’s a great read. She is a superb writer and has some fantastic advice. I just got done reading it. I got the book from the local library, so you may be able to find it at your library. Check it out. It’s a book about creating health. I’ll bet you’ll like it.

  3. Great job. I use myfitnesspal and I love it. I have the phone app and the computer as well. It makes me accountable for what I eat and all my friends can see it too. Makes me eat better when I know others are watching. LOL Keep up the good work. :)

  4. The myfitnesspal app has been instrumental in helping me lose weight. The hard part is being honest on the days you cheat. I can’t tell you how disgusted with myself I would feel the day after a binge when I would force myself to account for everything I ate.

    Like roundtoravishing said above, a food scale is also a very handy tool, if you don’t have one!

  5. Thanks for following my blog! I’m (as you can tell) checking out yours at the moment and I’m loving it!

    Calorie counting can be a great tool! It can drive you insane as well… but let’s just not go there ;-)
    The one thing I do absolutely hate ’bout logging = it takes so much time to log EVERYTHING ( or maybe I’m just very lazy, haha, or maybe once I can invest in an Iphone and upload an app for this it would make life easier!).

    Happy logging ;-)!

    • It will definitely make it much easier!! I haven’t tried to log from my computer yet, but it takes about 5 seconds to search for what I’m eating and add it to my log with Lose It!

      I’m glad you’re loving my blog, thank you for stopping by!!

  6. Counting calories get much easier as you go. You can do this! Just keep with it. I am always sure to take advantage of measuring cups and spoons and a kitchen scale, That way I am not assuming portion sizes and actually know how many calories to add.

  7. You can do it! Keep it up! I’m using the Spark People App, does the same thing. I track my food and exercise I do. It’s great because you have to think when youre about to eat something. “do I eat this? Or go healthy and eat this!” You have to figure out where to spend your calories, trying to get the most out of it.

    I try to keep some calories “saved” for the evening incase I feel snacky at the end of the day.

    • I do the same thing!! My first day I was STARVING because I didn’t budget them appropriately, and come 3:30pm I was almost out. Each day it gets easier as I figure out which healthy foods keep me satisfied longer, and I’m learning to eat smaller portions, more frequently, rather than a big meal all at once. I do admit, on day 2 at the end of the day I had 350 calories left, and I wanted to have those in the form of some ice cream, so I did! But I’m measuring things now, trying to stay as true to the budget as humanly possible. It really is awesome, I’m glad you’re enjoying logging too.

I <3 COMMENTS

