Groundhog – The Other White Meat

Today is Groundhog Day, in case you weren’t aware.

I’ve been waiting anxiously for the weather here to warm up to the point that it also warms the pools in the Valley. Lot’s of pools in Phoenix are heated throughout the winter, but personally I hate swimming in warm water. I want to jump in to the cool water on a hot summer day, then get out and air dry without catching pneumonia, thank you very much.

I can’t wait to start swimming again. To really focus on my strength, endurance, and longevity in the water. It’s the second step I need to complete on my journey towards a triathlon. Up until my senior year of High School, I was on the swim team practically year round. We would easily swim 5 miles during each practice – and it barely even phased me. This go around, it’s gonna be a whole new rodeo.

So I’m bummed that the Groundhog saw his shadow. There will be 6 more weeks of winter like weather – or so the story goes.

7 thoughts on “Groundhog – The Other White Meat

  1. Thank you for subscribing to my blog! :)
    After reading a few of your entries, I was inspired by your dedication and enjoy your writing as well! I will definitely look forward to updates from you. It sounds like we are both on a fitness journey at the same time, and I think it will be fun to check in with each other and become inspired by each others progress!
    Thanks again!
    -Lauren

  2. Five miles is a lot! Holy moly. Most people that get into triathlons are not swimmers, so you’re WAY up on most of them :-) We have to swim in pools here (the cold plains), but I don’t mind. The open water swims are not that pleasant regardless, around here, due to all of the nitrates the farmers put into their fields that runs off into the rivers and then lakes! Pew!
    Knock’em dead girl!

    • I may be up on them in the swimming department – but i guarantee they are all WAY up on me in the running department. Which sucks, because I like running now, but I still pretty much suck at it.

    • Yeah but it’s been a whiiiile! The sprint distance triathlon requires a much shorter swim though, and I really am not worried about that part at all :)

I <3 COMMENTS

