5 Easy Ways to Curb a Sweet Tooth

When I started this journey – and up until recently, my toughest challenge has been trying to find a way to gently end my relationship with all things sweet. For as long as I can remember, I’ve always given in to sugary treats. Sure I could have turned them down, but I loved them, and they loved me back. Or so I had convinced myself. I’ve been working diligently to find easy, painless ways to choose healthier options, and here are my top 5 suggestions:

1. Go for a walk. If your sweet tooth is to you, like mine is to me – then it’s a stage 5 clinger. You’re probably thinking “Yeah right, like going for a walk is going to curb this bitch. I promise you though, that if you’re able to go for a walk, it will get your mind of wanting to eat that cookie. Or cookies. You get the point. If you find yourself walking, still thinking about the junk food, speed up your pace to a steady jog. Turn it into a work out, even if it’s a small, quick one. I never want to eat junk right after I work out. I don’t like wasting time, so if I get my heart rate up, and I feel like I’ve burned a few calories, then the last thing I’m going to want to do is eat them all back in 2.5 seconds –  in the form of a snickers bar.

2. Try fruit. I hate when I hear people saying that fruit is to sugary to snack on. Obviously fruit has sugar in it, but it is natural, non processed, and it is truly healthy for you. Quit listening to the naysayers, and chow down! That’s like when people say to avoid avocado because of its high fat content. Puh-lease! The health benefits of these natural nutrients far outweighs the “bad” – if you can even call them bad.  I find if I’m craving sweet junk food, that a cup of raspberries, or strawberries for example, will more than satisfy me. My favorite dessert of choice lately is a fruity greek yogurt, with granola. Learn to enjoy those sweets, instead of the ones that have clung around your waist for so long.

3. Read. This one has been especially helpful for me while I’m at work, surrounded by birthday cakes, cookies, and all other forms of evil temptations. If I immerse myself in something mentally, I soon forget I wanted that slice. The way shit gets eaten in this office, if I read a few articles on CNN, Trip Advisor, Fodors, or anything for that matter, by the time I’m done the cake is long gone anyways. What a lifesaver.

4. Google ingredients. Seriously. Don’t believe me? Try it for yourself then. This is taken from Wikipedia, and is listed on the ingredients label for a popular house hold junk food item. The Kellogg’s Pop Tart. Often found in vending machines, and a quick “sweet” snack I used to munch on. It’s used as an Anti-Caking agent. Barf!

Tricalcium phosphate is a calcium salt of phosphoric acid with the chemical formula Ca3(PO4)2. It is also known as tribasic calcium phosphate or “bone ash” (calcium phosphate being one of the main combustion products of bone).

It has an alpha and a beta crystal form, the alpha state being formed at high temperatures. As rock, it is found in Whitlockite.

5. Eat naked. Not all the time, obviously! If your life bears the slightest resemblance to mine, then you may find yourself at home with a baby quite often, and saving snack time for nap time. That way you don’t have to share your junk with your little nugget. Heaven knows I don’t want Lilly learning the bad dietary habits I’ve some how formed over the years. So when she went to sleep, I brought out my snacks. I dare you, when your home in privacy, to just try to eat shitty foods while your naked. Not gonna happen. So if you’re home, bored, sitting in front of the tv and craving everything in your pantry. Just take off your clothes, and try it. I double-dare you to do it in front of a mirror.

 

 

 

 

15 thoughts on “5 Easy Ways to Curb a Sweet Tooth

  1. With 3 kids, 3 years old and under I don’t think I ever have time alone so eating naked would make me starve ,lol. I did make a dessert cookie pie out of garbonzo beans yesterday so I can say my sweetheart tooth would be hard to completely kick given that protein packed dessert. But you make good points that I could keep in mine in future ‘cravings’.

  2. Eat naked. That is fantastic! I will sometimes put on my tightest jeans before going somewhere where there will be lots of food. If I can’t sit down without revealing half my butt crack, I am not likely to indulge.

  3. Boy, can I relate to the sweet tooth thing! However, I have come up with a healthy(er) chocolate pudding that is sweet, chocolatey with no unpronounceable words and only 3 ingredients. Check out my post for the recipe.

I <3 COMMENTS

