Fast Food

If you’re like me, you like your salad hearty. Full of veggies, meat, and every kind of delicious from your kitchen. This salad from El Pollo Loco is 1) HUGE, and 2) under 300 calories – If you skip the creamy cilantro dressing, and just use the salsa instead. Obviously there are times in one’s life when one just can not skip using said creamy cilantro dressing, and that’s perfectly okay!  If you have an El Pollo Loco in your neighborhood, try this option instead of a greasy burger. Or heaven forbid – instead of one of their greasy tacos. I’m having this salad for lunch today. My second this week. It’s going to fuel me before my afternoon workout. YUM!

Grilled Chicken Salad - El Pollo Loco

6 thoughts on “Fast Food

  1. I’ve never heard of that place but I had something similar from McDonalds tonight. Also under 300 calories minus the dressing. It was actually really good, nice and spicey!

  2. My biggest challenge with fast food salads is they ALL have chicken. I’m a vegetarian (one of the egg/fish/dairy eating kind). I suppose I could keep a can of tuna with me at all times because some of those salads are nearly irresistible at times!

    • A very dear friend of mine always carried a lemon and a can of tuna with her through University. She always had a meal or side that way! Course, now you can buy the smaller flavoured tins and then you could have a spicy thai salad or a lemon dill salad… and almost all the salads these days come deconstructed so the meat never touches the veg anyway. (Added bonus you don’t need the can opener with the new ones!)

    • Gotcha! That would present a problem! Tuna is always a delicious option. I know you don’t eat chicken but I do also have to throw in another tidbit of info: most fast food chciken, is not chicken. I am sooo flippin picky about meat and if it doesn’t look real, i won’t touch it with a 10 foot pole. That’s why I love El Pollo Loco – their meat is sooo legit!! And again, the salad is so fresh and hearty and I think it would be equally as delicious with tuna. Okay! Rant over! :)

I <3 COMMENTS

