My First Real Run Will Be:

I did it! I’m registered for my first 5k!!! Not to take the easy way out  or anything, but it’s a 5k walk/run.  I plan on running of course, but it puts my mind at ease to know that it isn’t a competition.  This is after all, a huge step in the direction I’m going.  The other thing that scares me a bit is that The Phoenix Zoo has a lot of up-hill parts to it.  Hope that doesn’t kill me.  I’m so excited.  To hold myself accountable, I’ve invited people I work with to join me, as well as one of my non-work girlfriends. I’m stoked for the t-shirt, the bib, and all the pain and glory that is going to follow.  My confidence in myself is at an all time high. 

This blog has also been a great tool to help me hold myself accountable.  Thank you to all of my followers, and everybody that stops by to read my posts and follow me on this journey, I really appreciate each and every one of you!

If you live in Arizona and are interested in joining, check out the link http://www.phoenixzoo.org/events/special_events/special_events_detail.aspx?ARTICLE_ID=100773

8 thoughts on “My First Real Run Will Be:

  1. They let you combine? Here, we have the walk and the run- when you register, you’re supposed to do what you registered for (ie- you can’t run it if you registered for the walk; if you registered for the run, of course, you may end up walking some of it, but the primary method of getting to the finish line is running….). Fwiw.

    • I have no idea haha. I just registed for the 5k, it didn’t specify a walk or run. I’ve never done any thing like this, all I know about this one is that it isn’t timed or a compitition. Figured it would be the best place to start :) I’ll let you know how it went down once I complete it :)

  2. Anonymous says:

    Way to go! Don’t worry about the hills. Just swing your arms a bit more and your legs will naturally follow. I can’t wait to hear about it.

  3. I finished my first 5k two years ago now (GAH! That long?!) and it was AMAZING! Six months before the race, I couldn’t even run an entire city block. The feeling when I crossed the finish was line was un-freaking-believable. You are going to ROCK that race!!

I <3 COMMENTS

