Crock Pot Shredded Salsa Chicken

I’m baaaack bitches, I come come to you with a post full of deliciousness!

My ah-mazing sister and brother-in-law gifted me with a crock pot this year for Christmas.  Do you hear the heavenly choir singing its praises? Because I do!  Yesterday morning when Dan left for work he gave me only one “honey do” on my list for the day.  Use the flipping crock pot already.

Yes master.

I tried to lay on the couch all morning and procrastinate the whole going to the store thing, but by 9:30am I figured I’d better get to it, cause you know, this shit takes all flippin’ day to cook.  Or something like that.  I didn’t really know cause I’ve never used one before but I figured I’d best not risk having no dinner ready when my man got home.  That sounded awefully red neck of me.  Must be the meds.

I got in the car and instantly reached out to my 299 friends on Facebook asking for their best crock pot suggestions(and how to cook said suggestions in a crock pot).  Apparently people LOVE questions because that status blew up!  I got to the store and starting walking around, and then my phone died. No more facebook. No recipes. No nothing!  I went over to the chicken section and I had planned on asking an unsuspecting shopper for their tips, but I didn’t have the balls.  I can hear the judgement now. YOU HAVE A HUSBAND AND A BABY, AND YOU DON’T KNOW HOW TO COOK ANYTHING IN A CROCK POT?!  What the eff?  I decided to let my creative juices flow, and here is what I came up with (with the help of the few suggestions I read before my phone passed out):

5 Boneless skinless chicken breasts

1 Jar of Herdez salsa (my families personal fave, it’s the most “authentic”) – and by “authentic”, I of course mean Mexican

1 Box of chicken broth (low sodium)

1 Block of 1/3 less fat cream cheese (which to my defense, I didn’t end up using)

1 Package of tortillas

I poured about 1 cup of chicken broth into the bottom of my, um, crock? Or pot? You know what I’m talking about. Then I added all 5 chicken breasts, much to my dismay. I have a real “thing” about touching raw meat. Freaks me out, but I got it done.  I then poured the entire jar of Herdez over the top.  I turned the crock pot on low, and let her do the rest of the work for me.  I started the cooking at about 10:30am, and at 4:30pm I turned it from low, to “keep warm”.  When I opened the lid, I used a pair of tongs and pinched each breast of chicken until it shredded.  It fell apart completely effortlessly.  Dan put a generous amount of shredded chicken inside a tortilla and topped it with a pinch of mexican blend cheese, and rolled him a burrito.  I opted for just a plate of shredded salsa drenched chicken, carb free.  It was absolutley delicous you guys.  For something so incredibly easy, we were both pleasantly suprised. It exceeded my expectations.  We had an enormous amount of leftovers that we snacked on all day today.  MMmmm mmmm mmm. Delish!

I tried to take pictures, but then we go back to this whole “Blair is NOT a food photographer” issue.  They just simply do not do it justice.  The crock pot is my new favorite tool for healthy cooking.  Do you have any great healthy crock pot ideas?  Send them my way(with very detailed instructions)! – Still a beginner!

8 thoughts on “Crock Pot Shredded Salsa Chicken

  1. These are not healthy recipes. But they are really good and a hit anytime I make them. The measurments are not exact but they are close.

    Costa Vida Pork
    This is similar to Cafe Rio, or Baja fresh if you have eaten there. I use this on salads, or burritos.
    -pork roast shoulder/butt
    -brown sugar 1/2 cupish or more depending on how sweet you like your meat. Rub the brown sugar on the pork roast
    -2cups salsa
    -Dr. Pepper 2 cans
    -cook at low for 7 to 8 hours or until it shreds easily. Change to warm until dinner time.

    Cherry Coke pulled pork sandwiches
    This is a summertime favorite.
    -Pork roast shoulder/butt
    -brown sugar 1/2 cupish or more depending on how sweet you like your meat. Rub the brown sugar on the pork roast
    -2 cups salsa
    – cut in half and pit a bag of cherries. Place in crock pot.
    -Coke i do enough to cover about 3/4 of the roast.
    – cook at low for 7 to 8 hours. Then shred the meat and transfer into a skillet.
    – You may have to do this in multiple batches. Put meat and sauce in skillet and cook on med/high until the juices have reduced into the meat. This makes the meat have lots of flavor. You can leave it with more juice or less depending on how you like it. I like it a little dryer so I cook out most of the juice.
    -Slap meat on a bun and add pickles. You can add BBQ sauce if you want, but it doesn’t really need it.

  2. There’s a cookbook for crockpot cooking called Crockpot Cooking or something like that. :) Real helpful, I know, but it’s a decent book. I do a lot in the cp- soups, chicken and dumplings, etc etc. But ya, you have to be organized the night before and know what’s going in tomorrow and how long it takes to cook.

  3. I love crockpot cooking! So easy and convenient. You can always just throw a soup together. Just put all of your favorite veggies, chopped skinless boneless chicken breast, and some low sodium chicken or vegetable stock in the crockpot and let it cook on low for about 8 hours. I like to add some wild rice toward the end to make it a little heartier.

I <3 COMMENTS

