Inspiratation

Working for a Fortune 500 company certainly has its benefits.  Starting in January 2012, my work place has partnered up with Weight Watchers.  They are giving us a year worth of free enrollment.  I will be taking them up on that.  Heck, it can’t hurt to try it out!  I’m never thought I’d resort to Weight Watchers, but I feel blessed that they are picking up the financial cost for us.  Healthy people are more productive.  It’s been proven.  Perhaps my company is on to something…

Also, one of my lovely readers left me a comment about having goals.  I hadn’t really thought about what my goal is with this whole working out thing.  Sure I want to lose weight, sure I want to be healthier.  But what am I really working towards?  Who knows, people.  I have been thinking about a goal since reading that comment, and then today I was checking out a new followers blog and it hit me!  His goal is to be a tri-athlete by the end of 2012.  So guys, I’m just gonna steal that goal, and make it mine as well! 

A few years ago I walked the Susan G. Komen 3 Day 60 Mile walk, and at the finish line I experienced the most amazing sensation I’d ever felt.  I had never been so proud of myself, and I haven’t felt that feeling again since that afternoon.  I can only imagine that completing a triathlon, will give me that once again. 

My grandfather bet myself, my sister Paige, and my Aunt Saundra that we couldn’t complete that walk.  His bet was $300.00 to each of us if we did the whole thing, without cheating.  Cheating would mean hopping in one of the busses and letting it take us to the next rest station.  We walked 20 miles a day.  Three days in a row.  We slept in tents, in the cold.  We got blisters.  We bled.  We ached.  We did it.  Although excited for our pay outs, they were nothing in comparison to the self-worth we were filled with.  Maybe I’ll let Papa in on my 2012 goal, and perhaps I’ll get rich in my mind, as well as my wallet. I’ll keep you all updated!

2 thoughts on “Inspiratation

  1. I think it is great you are working toward a goal. Make sure you publish your goals, as that always helps. you are totally possible and it is so good you have friends and inspiration along the way. I have never tried Weight Watchers, but I have many friends who have been succesful using that approach, my wish of the best for you.

    • Thank you! I love the thought of competing in a triathlon, I think its great!! I’m wishing you the best as well! I’ve never even known anybody who participated in Weight Watchers, however a lot of people in my office are excited to start, so I hope it helps.

I <3 COMMENTS

